1883 Pittsburgh Alleghenys
Major League affiliations
Location
Other information
Owner(s)Denny McKnight
Manager(s)Al Pratt, Ormond Butler, Joe Battin
< Previous season     Next season >

The 1883 Pittsburgh Alleghenys season was the 2nd season of the Pittsburgh Alleghenys franchise. The Alleghenys finished seventh in the American Association with a record of 31–67.

Game log

1883 Game Log[1]
May: 7–13 (Home: 3–8 ; Away: 4–5)
# Date Opponent Score Record
1 Tuesday, May 1 Philadelphia Athletics 0–4 0–1
2 Wednesday, May 2 Philadelphia Athletics 1–8 0–2
3 Monday, May 7 New York Metropolitans 5–8 0–3
4 Tuesday, May 8 New York Metropolitans 7–10 0–4
5 Wednesday, May 9 New York Metropolitans 18–3 1–4
6 Thursday, May 10 Baltimore Orioles 3–4 1–5
7 Friday, May 11 Baltimore Orioles 7–6 2–5
8 Saturday, May 12 Baltimore Orioles 3–6 2–6
9 Tuesday, May 15 @ New York Metropolitans 2–6 2–7
10 Wednesday, May 16 @ New York Metropolitans 3–2 3–7
11 Thursday, May 17 @ New York Metropolitans 3–7 3–8
12 Saturday, May 19 @ Philadelphia Athletics 8–11 3–9
13 Monday, May 21 @ Philadelphia Athletics 1–4 3–10
14 Tuesday, May 22 @ Philadelphia Athletics 1–9 3–11
15 Thursday, May 24 @ Baltimore Orioles 16–4 4–11
16 Friday, May 25 @ Baltimore Orioles 15–6 5–11
17 Saturday, May 26 @ Baltimore Orioles 7–5 6–11
18 Tuesday, May 29 St. Louis Browns 5–10 6–12
19 Wednesday, May 30 St. Louis Browns 2–4 6–13
20 Wednesday, May 30 St. Louis Browns 10–4 7–13
June: 7–11 (Home: 3–6 ; Away: 4–5)
# Date Opponent Score Record
21 Saturday, Jun 2 Cincinnati Red Stockings 10–9 8–13
22 Monday, Jun 4 Cincinnati Red Stockings 8–12 8–14
23 Tuesday, Jun 5 Cincinnati Red Stockings 2–3 8–15
24 Thursday, Jun 7 Louisville Eclipse 10–0 9–15
25 Friday, Jun 8 Louisville Eclipse 18–6 10–15
26 Saturday, Jun 9 Louisville Eclipse 1–3 10–16
27 Tuesday, Jun 12 Columbus Buckeyes 5–6 10–17
28 Thursday, Jun 14 Columbus Buckeyes 10–23 10–18
29 Friday, Jun 15 Columbus Buckeyes 8–11 10–19
30 Monday, Jun 18 @ Columbus Buckeyes 5–4 11–19
31 Tuesday, Jun 19 @ Columbus Buckeyes 2–5 11–20
32 Wednesday, Jun 20 @ Columbus Buckeyes 11–4 12–20
33 Friday, Jun 22 @ Columbus Buckeyes 8–10 12–21
34 Saturday, Jun 23 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 2–7 12–22
35 Monday, Jun 25 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 2–1 13–22
36 Tuesday, Jun 26 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 4–1 14–22
37 Thursday, Jun 28 @ Louisville Eclipse 4–9 14–23
38 Saturday, Jun 30 @ Louisville Eclipse 7–8 14–24
July: 6–16 (Home: 4–5 ; Away: 2–11)
# Date Opponent Score Record
39 Sunday, Jul 1 @ Louisville Eclipse 0–14 14–25
40 Monday, Jul 2 @ Louisville Eclipse 4–10 14–26
41 Wednesday, Jul 4 @ St. Louis Browns 2–8 14–27
42 Wednesday, Jul 4 @ St. Louis Browns 2–3 14–28
43 Friday, Jul 6 @ St. Louis Browns 1–4 14–29
44 Sunday, Jul 8 @ St. Louis Browns 2–5 14–30
45 Tuesday, Jul 10 Philadelphia Athletics 11–4 15–30
46 Wednesday, Jul 11 Philadelphia Athletics 3–12 15–31
47 Thursday, Jul 12 Philadelphia Athletics 9–1 16–31
48 Friday, Jul 13 Philadelphia Athletics 1–4 16–32
49 Saturday, Jul 14 Philadelphia Athletics 2–3 16–33
50 Tuesday, Jul 17 New York Metropolitans 7–6 17–33
51 Wednesday, Jul 18 New York Metropolitans 1–9 17–34
52 Thursday, Jul 19 New York Metropolitans 6–1 18–34
53 Friday, Jul 20 New York Metropolitans 9–10 18–35
54 Monday, Jul 23 @ Baltimore Orioles 12–4 19–35
55 Wednesday, Jul 25 @ Baltimore Orioles 9–13 19–36
56 Thursday, Jul 26 @ Baltimore Orioles 11–8 20–36
57 Friday, Jul 27 @ Baltimore Orioles 8–21 20–37
58 Saturday, Jul 28 @ Philadelphia Athletics 2–11 20–38
59 Monday, Jul 30 @ Philadelphia Athletics 4–17 20–39
60 Tuesday, Jul 31 @ Philadelphia Athletics 12–16 20–40
August: 6–15 (Home: 5–11 ; Away: 1–4)
# Date Opponent Score Record
61 Wednesday, Aug 1 @ Philadelphia Athletics 2–19 20–41
62 Friday, Aug 3 @ New York Metropolitans 4–3 21–41
63 Saturday, Aug 4 @ New York Metropolitans 6–7 21–42
64 Monday, Aug 6 @ New York Metropolitans 3–7 21–43
65 Tuesday, Aug 7 @ New York Metropolitans 1–16 21–44
66 Thursday, Aug 9 Baltimore Orioles 4–2 22–44
67 Friday, Aug 10 Baltimore Orioles 5–4 23–44
68 Saturday, Aug 11 Baltimore Orioles 6–4 24–44
69 Monday, Aug 13 Baltimore Orioles 3–11 24–45
70 Thursday, Aug 16 Louisville Eclipse 1–5 24–46
71 Friday, Aug 17 Louisville Eclipse 9–11 24–47
72 Saturday, Aug 18 Louisville Eclipse 1–7 24–48
73 Monday, Aug 20 Louisville Eclipse 2–8 24–49
74 Wednesday, Aug 22 St. Louis Browns 3–6 24–50
75 Thursday, Aug 23 St. Louis Browns 7–10 24–51
76 Friday, Aug 24 St. Louis Browns 4–15 24–52
77 Saturday, Aug 25 St. Louis Browns 7–3 25–52
78 Tuesday, Aug 28 Columbus Buckeyes 0–4 25–53
79 Wednesday, Aug 29 Columbus Buckeyes 6–10 25–54
80 Thursday, Aug 30 Columbus Buckeyes 14–4 26–54
81 Friday, Aug 31 Columbus Buckeyes 0–2 26–55
September: 5–12 (Home: 3–1 ; Away: 2–11)
# Date Opponent Score Record
82 Monday, Sep 3 Cincinnati Red Stockings 4–3 27–55
83 Tuesday, Sep 4 Cincinnati Red Stockings 7–9 27–56
84 Wednesday, Sep 5 Cincinnati Red Stockings 15–9 28–56
85 Thursday, Sep 6 Cincinnati Red Stockings 12–4 29–56
86 Monday, Sep 10 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 6–12 29–57
87 Tuesday, Sep 11 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 2–7 29–58
88 Wednesday, Sep 12 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 5–27 29–59
89 Thursday, Sep 13 @ Cincinnati Red Stockings 2–8 29–60
90 Saturday, Sep 15 @ Columbus Buckeyes 7–3 30–60
91 Sunday, Sep 16 @ Columbus Buckeyes 1–5 30–61
92 Wednesday, Sep 19 @ Columbus Buckeyes 3–8 30–62
93 Friday, Sep 21 @ Louisville Eclipse 7–5 31–62
94 Saturday, Sep 22 @ Louisville Eclipse 4–5 31–63
95 Sunday, Sep 23 @ Louisville Eclipse 0–4 31–64
96 Wednesday, Sep 26 @ St. Louis Browns 3–20 31–65
97 Thursday, Sep 27 @ St. Louis Browns 2–6 31–66
98 Sunday, Sep 30 @ St. Louis Browns 3–6 31–67
Legend:        = Win        = Loss

Season standings

American Association W L Pct. GB Home Road
Philadelphia Athletics 66 32 0.673 37–14 29–18
St. Louis Browns 65 33 0.663 1 35–14 30–19
Cincinnati Red Stockings 61 37 0.622 5 38–13 23–24
New York Metropolitans 54 42 0.562 11 29–17 25–25
Louisville Eclipse 52 45 0.536 13½ 29–18 23–27
Columbus Buckeyes 32 65 0.330 33½ 18–29 14–36
Pittsburgh Alleghenys 31 67 0.316 35 18–31 13–36
Baltimore Orioles 28 68 0.292 37 18–31 10–37

Record vs. opponents


Sources: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8]
Team BAL CIN CLB LOU NY PHI PIT STL
Baltimore 3–11 6–7 6–8 3–10 3–11 5–9 2–12
Cincinnati 11–3 11–3 10–4 4–10 9–5 8–6 8–6
Columbus 7–6 3–11 5–9 3–11 1–13 10–4 3–11
Louisville 8–6 4–10 9–5 7–6–1 7–7 11–3 6–8
New York 10–3 10–4 11–3 6–7–1 5–9 9–5 3–11
Philadelphia 11–3 5–9 13–1 7–7 9–5 12–2 9–5
Pittsburgh 9–5 6–8 4–10 3–11 5–9 2–12 2–12
St. Louis 12–2 6–8 11–3 8–6 11–3 5–9 12–2


Roster

1883 Pittsburgh Alleghenys roster[2]
Pitchers
Catchers
Infielders
Outfielders
Manager

Player stats

Batters
Pitchers

References

  1. ^ "1883 Pittsburgh Alleghenys Schedule, Box Scores and Splits - Baseball-Reference.com". Baseball-Reference.
  2. ^ "1882 Pittsburgh Alleghenys Roster by Baseball Almanac". Baseball Almanac.
  3. ^ "Sortable Player Stats | MLB.com". MLB.com.
  4. ^ "Sortable Player Stats | MLB.com". MLB.com.