1994 Baltimore Stallions season
Head coachDon Matthews
Home fieldMemorial Stadium
Results
Record12–6
Division place2nd, East
Playoff finishLost Grey Cup
Team MVPMike Pringle
Team ROYMatt Goodwin
Uniform

The 1994 Baltimore Football Club season was the first in the history of the Baltimore CFL franchise. Initially intended to be named the Baltimore CFL Colts, the team was forced to adopt a generic name after Robert Irsay successfully enjoined the team from using any name that might associate with the former Baltimore Colts, which he had controversially moved to Indiana 11 years prior. The team became the first American-based CFL team to play in the Grey Cup, but lost to the hometown BC Lions on a last second field goal.

Preseason

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance
1 Fri, June 24 at Shreveport Pirates 33–18 Win 19,000
2 Wed, June 29 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 45–43 Win 21,078

[1]

Season standings

East Division
Team GP W L T PF PA Pts
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 18 13 5 0 651 572 26
Baltimore CFLers 18 12 6 0 561 431 24
Toronto Argonauts 18 7 11 0 504 578 14
Ottawa Rough Riders 18 4 14 0 480 647 8
Hamilton Tiger-Cats 18 4 14 0 435 562 8
Shreveport Pirates 18 3 15 0 330 661 6

[2]

Season schedule

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance
1 Thurs, June 7 at Toronto Argonauts 28–20 Win 13,101
2 Sat, July 16 vs. Calgary Stampeders 42–16 Loss 39,247
3 Sat, July 23 vs. Shreveport Pirates 40–24 Win 31,172
4 Thurs, July 28 at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 39–32 Loss 22,398
5 Sat, Aug 6 at Las Vegas Posse 38–33 Win 10,122
6 Wed, Aug 10 vs. Hamilton Tiger-Cats 30–15 Win 37,231
7 Sat, Aug 20 vs. Toronto Argonauts 31–24 Loss 41,155
8 Sat, Aug 27 at Hamilton Tiger-Cats 28–17 Win 15,227
9 Sat, Sept 3 at Shreveport Pirates 28–16 Win 16,332
10 Sat, Sept 10 vs. Sacramento Gold Miners 30–29 Loss 42,116
11 Sun, Sept 18 at Saskatchewan Roughriders 35–18 Win 28,035
12 Sun, Sept 25 at Ottawa Rough Riders 42–27 Win 20,764
13 Sat, Oct 1 vs. Ottawa Rough Riders 40–13 Win 36,187
14 Fri, Oct 7 vs. Las Vegas Posse 22–16 Win 34,186
15 Sun, Oct 16 at Edmonton Eskimos 31–24 Loss 31,198
16 Sat, Oct 22 vs. BC Lions 48–31 Win 35,416
17 Sat, Oct 29 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 57–10 Win 39,417
18 Sat, Nov 5 at Sacramento Gold Miners 18–0 Loss 14,056

[3]

Playoffs

Game Date Opponent Score Result Attendance
East Semi-Final Sat, Nov 12 vs. Toronto Argonauts 34–15 Win 35,223
East Final Sun, Nov 20 at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 14–12 Win 25,067
82nd Grey Cup Sun, Nov 27 BC Lions 26–23 Loss 55,097

Awards and honors

After the season, other Baltimore Stallions' received awards and accomplishments in the CFL, which are:

See also

References

  1. ^ http://www.profootballarchives.com/1994cflbal.html
  2. ^ "Archived copy". Archived from the original on 2009-06-09. Retrieved 2017-08-23.CS1 maint: archived copy as title (link)
  3. ^ http://www.profootballarchives.com/1994cflbal.html