— Wikipedian  —
LanguagesDutch, English
Time zoneUTC+1
Current timeCurrent time for UTC+1 is 07:43
This user has been on Wikipedia for 17 years, 9 months and 16 days.
This user is of Dutch ancestry.
This user's PSN ID is:
This user is inked.ʰ
This editor is a lover of beer and uses Untappd. Their username is Soetermans Cheers!

Hello there, my name is Sebastiaan Soetermans-Jelgersma, welcome to my user page. I'm a 36-year old certified beer sommelier, a philosopher of video games and a child day care worker. I was born and raised in Amsterdam, and live in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

Studies and work

Right after high school I studied to become a history teacher. Because of my young age, I felt it was not right for me. I went to VU University to study philosophy and later to University of Amsterdam to study history, but in retrospect it was a too hastily taken decision. I took a year off, worked at a restaurant as a barista and bartender and took the time to figure out what I wanted to do. I stumbled upon pastoral care and decided to go for that. I finished my studies in May 2016.

Since my studies I've worked in cafés and restaurants, including the restaurant located in the EYE Film Institute Netherlands. Because there are not a lot of work opportunities to be found in pastoral care in the Netherlands, especially for someone who doesn't belong to any religion, I worked full-time in the service industry. From January 2016 until June 2017, I worked at Belgian Beer Café Olivier in Utrecht. After that I managed café DeRat, a small but renowned craft beer bar. I'm a huge beer aficionado and I've passed the first and second exams on the Netherlands' beer sommelier course. In September 2018, I received my international certification for beer sommelier. After a brief stint at a small brewery, a business partner and I worked very hard to start our own bar, but before we signed anything COVID happened and our plans fell through. I worked for a small chain of liquor stores during COVID. From May 2021 until December 2022 I worked as a floor manager at a restaurant, occasionally giving beer sensory trainings to other businesses.

In February 2023 I started a new chapter in my life: I am working as a child day care worker and I'm going back to school.

Personal life

I was born on June 18, 1987 and grew up in Amsterdam-Noord. I played baseball and loved watching movies with friends growing up. From the age of 14 I was in a very long relationship with my "high school sweetheart" and was engaged to be married, but she broke the engagement off and I had to look for a new place to live. In July 2015 I met my wife through Tinder. We hit it off and moved in together quickly. I asked her to marry me in August 2019, but of course, COVID happened. We finally got married in May 2022. In October 2022, she gave birth to our daughter.

I've got thirteen tattoos, mostly on my arms.

Usually I let my beard grow, which is red, unlike the rest of my hair.


Besides editing Wikipedia, in my spare time I like to play video games. With my studies I also look for religious, philosophical and ethical aspects in video games. From The Legend of Zelda to Fallout 3, games are loaded with those kind of elements.

I'm a big fan of comedy, comedy TV series and comedy podcasts. Parks and Recreation, Arrested Development, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Archer, the list goes on. While working out, I like to listen to Comedy Bang Bang, How Did This Get Made and others.

My Wikipedia activities

I've been a Wikipedian since April 2006. I enjoy editing, it gives me peace of mind and I feel like I'm spending my spare time wisely. The bulk of my edits concern video games. I consider myself to be something of a WikiGnome: I usually take out typoes typos, amazing POV, and correcting piped links piped links.

I have great respect and admiration for all my fellow editors. We're all volunteers, spending our free time on topics we care about, just so this encyclopedia gets better everyday.

To-do list

I'm usually on my phone, making small corrections here and there. This is my to-do list of articles I want to work on. Feel free to do so of course!

Around October 2017, I did some paid editing. It was a stupid idea and I don't encourage anyone to do so. I got me an official warning and the pay was not worth the hassle. I would urge anyone to think twice before doing so.

Contacting me

Since it is pretty rare, I go by my last name online (i.e. Wikipedia, PSN, Untappd). I am not on any social media platforms though.