In basketball, an illegal dribble (colloquially called a double dribble or dribbling violation) occurs when a player ends their dribble by catching or causing the ball to come to rest in one or both hands and then dribbles it again with one hand or when a player touches it before the ball hits the ground. The dribble also ends when the dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. This is a palming/carrying the ball violation if the player continues with another dribble.
There is no violation during the jump ball, a throw-in or a free throw.
In the National Basketball Association, a dribble is movement of the ball, caused by a player in control, who throws or touches the ball into the air or to the floor.
The dribble ends when the player:
Art. 24.2 of the FIBA rules  provides that:
A player shall not dribble for a second time after his first dribble has ended unless between the 2 dribbles he has lost control of a live ball on the playing court because of:
Under NCAA, NFHS and FIBA rules, if an illegal dribble violation occurs, then the ball is awarded to the opposing team out of bounds nearest the point where the violation took place. Under NBA rules, the ball is awarded to the opposing team at the nearest spot, but no closer to the end line than the free throw line extended.